Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

 Indiana University Bloomington

IPE Faculty Affiliates

The expertise and interests of the IPE faculty affiliates are many; however, they all share a commitment to the environment, their students and colleagues, and their research. 

The strengths of IPE faculty affiliates can be grouped within the following themes:

  • Environmental Science
  • Human-Environment Interaction and Sustainability
  • Environment and Human Health
  • Environmental Policy and Management
  • Environment in the Arts and Humanities
  • Sustainable Design

Search the affiliate directory below by name or keywords (or use the separate "theme" search) to refine the list.

Directory

Majed AkhterMajed Akhter
maakhter@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7971
Keywords:  water security, agrarian political economy, political ecology, modern Pakistan and South Asia envsci, policy,
Shahzeen AttariShahzeen Attari
sattari@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1467
Keywords:  resource consumption, perceptions, efficiency and conservation, behavioral economics, social dilemmas envsci, policy,
A. James BarnesA. James Barnes
barnesaj@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2188
Keywords:  environmental law, domestic and international environmental policy, ethics and the public official policy,
James D. BeverJames D. Bever
jbever@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0771
Keywords:  ecology, restoration, plant-soil feedback, evolution, mycorrhizal fungi, host-pathogen dynamics, plant invasion envsci,
Bennet B BrabsonBennet B Brabson
brabson@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3881
Keywords:  climate, climate extremes, soil moisture envsci,
Jennifer N. BrassJennifer N. Brass
brassj@indiana.edu
(812) 855 1460
Keywords:  service provision, electricity, energy, distributed generation, sub-Saharan Africa, NGOs, governance, collaboration envsci, policy,
Eduardo S. BrondizioEduardo S. Brondizio
ebrondiz@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8162
Keywords:  environmental and economic anthropology, land use and landscape history, ethnobotany, household economy, sociodemography, dual livelihoods, people-forest interaction, socio-ecological complex systems analysis, integrative methodologies and geospatial applications in the social sciences, global environmental change sustain,
William Marshall BrownWilliam Marshall Brown
brownwm@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1822
Keywords:  sustainable communities, sustainable design, campus sustainability, organizational change leadership sustain, policy, design,
James H. CapshewJames H. Capshew
jcapshew@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3655
Keywords:  history of psychology, university history, genius loci, community history, local culture, history of dendrochronology arts,
Sanya CarleySanya Carley
scarley@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0920
Keywords:  energy policy, energy-based economic development, electric vehicles, distributed generation envsci, policy,
Meriem ChidaMeriem Chida
mchida@indiana.edu
Keywords:  environmental & cultural capital, heritage tourism, development policies, sustainability, innovation & waste management strategies sustain, health,
Melissa ClarkMelissa Clark
mlaney@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4556
Keywords:  limnology, lake, watershed management, aquatic habitat, environmental sustainability, stream ecology envsci,
Keith ClayKeith Clay
clay@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8158
Keywords:  symbiosis, disease, mutualism, ecology, plants, fungi, bacteria, ticks envsci,
Daniel H. ColeDaniel H. Cole
dancole@indiana.edu
(812) 855-2426
Keywords:  law, economics, politics, property, natural resources, pollution, climate change policy,
Christopher B. CraftChristopher B. Craft
ccraft@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1837
Keywords:  wetland restoration, ecosystem development, wetlands and water quality, wetlands and climate change, carbon sequestration, peat accretion envsci,
Doug EdmondsDoug Edmonds
edmondsd@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4512
Keywords:  rivers, fluid flow, transport, sediment, coastlines, deltas envsci,
Erika R. ElswickErika R. Elswick
eelswick@indiana.edu
(812) 855-2493
Keywords:  geochemistry, sedimentology, paleoclimate, stable isotopes envsci,
Mary EmbryMary Embry
mcembry@indiana.edu
Keywords:  textiles and apparel, fair trade, sustainability, corporate social responsibility, global citizenship, service-learning sustain, design,
Tom EvansTom Evans
evans@indiana.edu
(812) 219-6009
Keywords:  coupled natural-human systems, human-environment interactions, sustainable agriculture, food security, water, forests, GIS, remote sensing, spatial modeling, agent-based modeling sustain, policy,
Alan EwertAlan Ewert
aewert@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8116
Keywords:  human health, natural environments health,
James FarmerJames Farmer
jafarmer@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0969
Keywords:  sustainable behavior, land conservation/preservation, local food systems, sustainable and organic agriculture, farming sustain,
Darren FicklinDarren Ficklin
dficklin@indiana.edu
(812) 856-5047
Keywords:  watershed, watershed modeling, groundwater, climate change, water quality, model uncertainty envsci,
Burney FischerBurney Fischer
bufische@indiana.edu
(812) 856-5016
Keywords:  urban forestry, urban ecosystems, environmental governance envsci, policy,
Robert L. FischmanRobert L. Fischman
rfischma@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4565
Keywords:  conservation planning, public land management, wildlife refuges, endangered species act, environmental law policy,
Spencer HallSpencer Hall
sprhall@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6009
Keywords:  food webs, limnology, disease ecology, mathematical modeling, ecological stoichiometry, consumer-resource envsci,
Michael HamburgerMichael Hamburger
hamburg@indiana.edu
(812) 855-2934
Keywords:  earthquakes, seismology, natural disasters, tectonics envsci,
Marjorie HersheyMarjorie Hershey
hershey@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6308
Keywords:  environment, climate change, political parties, interest groups policy,
Gary M. HieftjeGary M. Hieftje
hieftje@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6262
Keywords:  Chemical analysis, chemical instrumentation, mass spectrometry, environmental analysis, forensic analysis, laser ablation, fiber optic sensors, emission spectrometry, elemental analysis, isotope-ratio analysis, ambient desorption/ionization mass spectrometry envsci,
Ronald A. HitesRonald A. Hites
hitesr@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0193
Keywords:  PCBs, pesticides, flame retardants, Great Lakes, environmental chemistry envsci,
Carl IpsenCarl Ipsen
cipsen@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8976
Keywords:  food, sustainability, history, population, Italy sustain,
Stephanie KaneStephanie Kane
stkane@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0896
Keywords:  political ecology of water, port cities, ethnography, environmental justice, aquatic dimensions of climate change and disaster, Latin America sustain, policy, arts,
David M. KehoeDavid M. Kehoe
dkehoe@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4715
Keywords:  light acclimation, nutrient acclimation, aquatic biology, signal transduction, cyanobacteria, plants, photoreceptors, marine biology envsci,
Ellen KettersonEllen Ketterson
ketterso@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6837
Keywords:  physiological and behavioral ecology, adaptation and constraint, phenotypic integration, hormones and behavior, avian biology, animal migrations, animal behavior, sex and gender envsci,
James E. KlaunigJames E. Klaunig
jklauni@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2448
Keywords:  toxicology, carcinogenesis, human health health,
Daniel C. KnudsenDaniel C. Knudsen
knudsen@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6303
Keywords:  landscape studies, food studies, tourism studies sustain,
Steven F. KreftSteven F. Kreft
skreft@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4965
Keywords:  public economics, sustainability, corporate social strategy, non-market risks, entrepreneurship sustain, policy,
Kevin LairKevin Lair
kslair@indiana.edu
(812) 375-7589
Keywords:  design, intelligent building systems, environmental modeling, Design for Disassembly (DfD), deconstruction, design for the environment, Continue Productive Urban Landscapes (CPUL), biocomposites, shape memory materials, rural ecology, nonhuman, Westbrook Artists' Site (WAS) design,
Rebecca LaveRebecca Lave
rlave@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0940
Keywords:  stream restoration, political economy, social studies of science envsci, sustain,
Jay T. LennonJay T. Lennon
lennonj@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0962
Keywords:  microbial biodiversity: from evolution to ecosystems envsci,
Sally LetsingerSally Letsinger
sletsing@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1356
Keywords:  hydrogeology, geomorphology, numerical modeling, geographic information sciences, remote sensing envsci,
John W. MaxwellJohn W. Maxwell
jwmax@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1536
Keywords:  corporate environmentalism and public policy policy,
Justin MaxwellJustin Maxwell
maxweljt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5557
Keywords:  biogeography, climatology, climate change, dendrochronology, forest disturbances envsci,
James "Jake" McKinlayJames "Jake" McKinlay
jmckinla@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0359
Keywords:  metabolism, physiology, photosynthesis, isotope, biofuel, bioenergy, metabolic engineering, fermentation envsci,
Vicky MeretskyVicky Meretsky
meretsky@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3836
Keywords:  conservation biology, conservation policy, climate change, endangered species envsci, policy,
Jennifer Meta RobinsonJennifer Meta Robinson
jenmetar@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4607
Keywords:  sustainable agriculture, local food, sense of place, vernacular pedagogies sustain, arts,
Alyce MillerAlyce Miller
almiller@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8224
Keywords:  animals, animality, law, race, gender, literature, creative writing policy, arts,
Sarah K. MinceySarah K. Mincey
skmincey@indiana.edu
(812) 855-2230
Keywords:  natural resource management, social-ecological systems, urban and community forestry, applied ecology, collective action, institutional analysis envsci, sustain, policy,
Kim NovickKim Novick
knovick@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3010
Keywords:  ecology, carbon cycling, water, climate change, forests, biometeorology envsci,
Scott O'BryanScott O'Bryan
spobryan@indiana.edu
(812) 855-2454
sustain, arts,
Greg A. OlyphantGreg A. Olyphant
olyphant@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1354
Keywords:  hydrology, geomorphology, mathematical and statistical modeling envsci,
Phaedra C. PezzulloPhaedra C. Pezzullo
pezzullo@indiana.edu
(812) 855-2106
Keywords:  environmental justice, environmental racism, environmental advocacy campaigns, environmental movements, ecofeminism, environmental cultural studies, environmental communication, toxic tours, disaster tours, toxic policy reform, rhetoric, cultural theory sustain, health,
Richard PhillipsRichard Phillips
rpp6@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0593
Keywords:  biogeochemistry, forest, soils, carbon, nitrogen, roots, rhizosphere, mycorrhizae envsci,
Flynn PicardalFlynn Picardal
picardal@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0733
Keywords:  environmental microbiology, biogeochemistry, environmental engineering envsci,
P. David PollyP. David Polly
pdpolly@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7994
Keywords:  paleontology, climate change biology, ecology and evolution, vertebrates envsci,
Lisa M. PrattLisa M. Pratt
prattl@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9203
Keywords:  sulfer isotope fractionation, Mars, geomicrobiology, biogeochemistry envsci,
Jonathan RacekJonathan Racek
jonracek@indiana.edu
Keywords:  architecture, design, LEED, developing world, playground, sustainable design, participatory design design,
Jonathan D. RaffJonathan D. Raff
jdraff@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6525
Keywords:  atmospheric chemistry, air pollution, environmental catalysis, and climate change envsci,
Rafael ReuvenyRafael Reuveny
rreuveny@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6112
Keywords:  sustainable development/social sciences, resources and war, trade and environment, democracy and environment, environment and migration, effects of war on the environment, migration and health, natural disasters effects on socioeconomic and political forces (trade, migration, civil war, war), game theoretical models, statistical models, dynamic models, optimal control models, social collapse of historical civilizations due to environmental degradation policy,
Heather ReynoldsHeather Reynolds
hlreynol@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0792
Keywords:  ecology, microbial interactions and pathogenesis, plant-environment interactions, environmental heterogeneity, invasive species, ecological restoration, sustainable agriculture, educational outreach, service-learning envsci,
Scott RobesonScott Robeson
srobeson@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6303
Keywords:  climate change, spatial analysis, environmental change, climate impacts, statistics envsci,
Jill RobinsonJill Robinson
jirobins@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6601
Keywords:  atmospheric chemistry, air quality, climate change envsci,
Rinku Roy ChowdhuryRinku Roy Chowdhury
rroychow@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3854
Keywords:  land change science, coastal ecosystem dynamics, urban social-ecological systems, food and farming systems, human dimensions, GIS and remote sensing envsci, sustain,
Todd V. RoyerTodd V. Royer
troyer@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0563
Keywords:  aquatic ecology, biogeochemistry, water resources envsci,
John A. RuppJohn A. Rupp
rupp@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1323 / (812) 855-7980
Keywords:  subsurface geology, petroleum geology, stratigraphy, carbon dioxide sequestration, coalbed methane envsci,
Peter SauerPeter Sauer
pesauer@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6591
Keywords:  paleoclimate, isotope geochemistry, organic geochemistry, stable isotopes envsci,
Arndt SchimmelmannArndt Schimmelmann
aschimme@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7645
Keywords:  stable isotopes, hydrogen, carbon, nitrogen, sedimentology, paleoceanography, fossil fuel envsci,
Whitney SchlegelWhitney Schlegel
wreilly@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7116
Keywords:  behavior, sustainability, team-based learning, interdisciplinary science, service learning and leadership health,
Jonathan SchlesingerJonathan Schlesinger
joschles@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6882
Keywords:  environmental history, China and Inner Asia, globalization, early modern empires and frontiers, race and ethnicity, commodities and consumption policy, arts,
Ursel SchuetteUrsel Schuette
uschuett@indiana.edu
(812) 856 2915
Keywords:  microbial communities, peatland, arctic, bioremediation envsci,
Scott ShackelfordScott Shackelford
sjshacke@indiana.edu
(812) 856-6728
Keywords:  law, cybersecurity, sustainability law, environmental law, international business law policy,
Joseph ShawJoseph Shaw
joeshaw@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5971
Keywords:  environmental toxicology, environmental genomics, comparative physiology envsci,
Angie SheltonAngie Shelton
anshelto@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1674
Keywords:  IURTP, ecology, invasive species, white-tailed deer, forests envsci,
Lisa SiderisLisa Sideris
lsideris@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3531
Keywords:  environmental ethics, religion and nature, science and religion arts,
Thomas P. SimonThomas P. Simon
tsimon@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4672
Keywords:  environmental indicators, ecotoxicology, biological integrity, risk assessment, risk analysis, North American fish and crayfish, reproductive biology and early life history of fishes envsci,
Philip S. StevensPhilip S. Stevens
pstevens@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0863
Keywords:  atmospheric chemistry, air quality, biosphere-atmosphere interactions envsci,
Catherine M. TuckerCatherine M. Tucker
tuckerc@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9360
Keywords:  human-environment interactions, community-based natural resource management, ecological & economic anthropology, political ecology, institutional analysis, adaptation to climate change, coffee production & consumption, Latin America sustain, policy,
Laura E. WasylenkiLaura E. Wasylenki
lauraw@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7508
Keywords:  metals in the environment, metal isotope fractionation, transition and post-transition metals, isotope systematics, ICP mass spectrometry, SesameLab, biogeochemistry envsci,
W. William WeeksW. William Weeks
wwweeks@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0615
Keywords:  conservation easements, biodiversity conservation, endangered species act, migratory bird treaty act, invasive species, land trusts policy,
Jeff WhiteJeff White
whitej@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0084
Keywords:  wetland biogeochemistry, climate change, arctic ecosystems envsci,
Andrea WileyAndrea Wiley
wileya@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4993
Keywords:  diet, nutrition, human adaptability, India, demography, health, child growth sustain,
Richard WilkRichard Wilk
wilkr@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3901
Keywords:  sustainability, food, consumption, consumerism, energy sustain,
Jiangmei WuJiangmei Wu
jiawu@indiana.edu
(812) 272-3078
Keywords:  LEED AP, sustainable design, green building, LED, folded light art design,
Chen ZhuChen Zhu
chenzhu@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1884
Keywords:  CO2-water-rock interactions, aqueous geochemistry, geochemical modeling envsci,